How to maintain consistency

and why does it matter

Hi everyone, I hope you all are having some great weekends and trips in between your coding journey. It's equally important to take breaks in between to keep your genius mind fresh ;)

Importance of consistency and discipline while learning technology

See, we all have created new year resolutions ( how many of you have stayed consistent on them ) and have those moments at 3 am in the night when we want to change our lives and we are very motivated. But, to share the sad news with you all, MOTIVATION DOESN'T WORK.

Big achievements and small achievements also happen when we do the work ignoring our mood and feelings. I have tried all sorts of motivation and I used to do the work for two days and then boom, back to normal life. Not only you will not feel like doing the tasks but these random spikes of motivation are not something you want to rely on.

Instead, try to build a habit of working for 20 minutes every day for 60 days. I have tried this, just set a goal to study coding every day from 5 to 7 pm and it's been 30 + days and I have rarely skipped one or two days. It's awesome.

How to stay consistent

When I set my target of studying just for 1 hour daily for eg. 5 - 7 pm, somedays I felt like not getting up from bed.

It can happen and always happen with all of the successful people you see in life. But, what helped me was to remember WHY I am doing all this. This WHY reason should be strong enough and very important to YOU. Everyone has different WHYs, I had some of them lol. The first one was because I want to become somebody. I didn't want to remain anybody. Whenever I felt like skipping the work, I remembered that this is not how I will become a master developer ( lol yea I set my standards high )

Another reason for me to keep going was ACCOUNTABILITY. I can't stress this enough but it's very very important. You need to hold yourself accountable. In this case, I was accountable to put out a blog on this site. I promised that I would share my journey and I had to do the work to share it here. This is the reason I told you in my very first blog to start documenting your journey.

How consistency helps

  • consistency in learning the basics can help you build a solid foundation for more advanced skills and technologies.

  • The impact of consistency on memory retention: Studies have shown that those who study daily, with a maximum of one day break, have more retention on what they studied over longer periods than those who are not consistent

My new project

Let's end this article nicely and shortly and let me share about my new project. It is a static website landing page that I coded with HTML, CSS, bootstrap and a little bit of javascript ( bootstrap in-built javascript ;) ).

I shared in my previous blog that I will upload it soon and I did it on Git Hub. Here you can check it out

Museum_of_candy

It's nothing fancy and I built it with the help of a tutorial. I know I should build something on my own but this project helped me with my confidence and in the future when I finish my javascript you will see a lot of amazing front-end projects from my side.

Till then, See you in the next blog.

Keep coding :)